Return to Freeform Ultimate Trail Saddle
Sort By::
Page of 1


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Love it - super comfy and light weight August 10, 2021
Reviewer: Melissa C.  
This saddle is super comfy and light weight. I got the ultimate trail saddle and love it. I am balanced and my horse Judy and I are a good team using the freeform treeless. Judy has broad shoulders and this saddle is wonderful. My teacher got in it and said it feels like riding on a couch. It feels like that and it's only 10 pounds!!! It fits my pelvis perfectly and also my hard to fit draft cross horse. Tried and true. Whitney & Paulita worked with me to make sure I was happy and comfortable. They even let me return the Pathfinder, my first choice, in exchange for this one...  Truly I feel this company just wants the customer & especially the horse to be happy, for the long haul. I am blessed to have purchased such a beautiful and well made saddle. Good people, exceptional quality saddle.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I've had it one year & would buy it again! April 19, 2021
Reviewer: Dawn from Keeler  
I purchased the Ultimate Trail saddle almost a year ago and I am still as happy with the saddle today as I was when I first received it. With the addition of panels and a supportive pad with inserts as recommended by Paulita, I have a winning combination that performs well for the horses I have used it on. I was absolutely amazed to look down while riding and see the horse’s entire shoulder free and moving. It was quite odd at first because most saddles cover up the shoulder area and I kept thinking the saddle was too far back. The seat is comfy and despite the minimalist style of the saddle it provides a great deal of security. I use this saddle for riding trail with lots of trotting, mountain obstacle courses, and mountain trail riding. If I had to replace this saddle today I would buy exactly what I have again. Dawn Keeler - a satisfied customer.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 My horse is happier in Freeform Treeless saddles! August 11, 2020
Reviewer: Carol Lundquist DVM  
I have 2 Freeforms - love them both. Adding my review to both saddles!
I am a veterinarian and utilize animal chiropractic, acupuncture and laser therapy in my practice. Up until recently, I have always ridden in treed saddles. I currently have a horse that has never been happy in a treed saddle, even when they seemingly fit her. So, I began looking at treeless saddles and I have tried no less than four different brands. When I tried the Freeform treeless saddles it was obvious from the first moment that my horse was happier. She was much more relaxed, forward and moving better through her back. I have had the Freeform Ultimate Trail Saddle and the Pathfinder for 5 months now and both my horses are very comfortable and happy. I'm so pleased to have found Paulita and the Freeform Treeless saddles and to recommend them to my clients.

Was this review helpful to you?

  4 of 4 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I am in love with this saddle and what it's done July 10, 2020
Reviewer: Brooks & Blanco from Colorado  
Just a few words about my ‘happy ass’ saddle.  It’s been a year since I ordered my Ultimate Trail saddle.  I initially went looking for an alternative to my bespoke County saddle when my horse Blanco finally started coming back into work after a long bout of lameness.  Blanco suffered from under run heels when he first came to me, and things only worsened when he shredded both DDFT’s.  It took a year to even begin to recover, and during that time of decreased activity I noticed symptoms that led to a diagnosis of HYPP. So now we were dealing not only with lameness but also with a genetic muscle disease. So now we were ready to begin the slow road to rehab, but what to do with a saddle that was no longer even close to fitting his changed musculature. That’s when I discovered the treeless saddle.  After much research I contacted Paulita. We talked a bit about what I wanted and what Blanco needed and we have never been happier.  I’ve had the saddle and Freeform pad for a year now and we’ve come so far. Blanco’s back is still changing, but through it all the saddle has fit both of us perfectly. I recently contacted Paulita as I thought maybe I needed to ‘upgrade’ to a Skito pad.  After looking at photos of my boy, Paulita convinced me not to ‘fix’ what wasn’t broken.  She was right.  My issue proved to be a training and balance issue and not a tack issue.

I’m in love with this saddle and what it has done for my horse during and after a very rough stretch.  Thank you SO much for your insight and support. I know I can always ask for help and it will be there. Can’t wait until we can get back on the Colorado trails again :)

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 My Porsche April 24, 2020
Reviewer: Gerry Cummings from IL  
I am fortunate to own two of Paulita’s saddles:  The Freeform Scout and the Classic Trail.  I like to refer to them as my corvette (scout) and porsche (trail).  Either saddle fits both of my horses.  I choose which saddle to use based on the type riding I will be doing.  If I plan to be in the saddle all day, then I may choose the corvette (scout) with lots of cushion, multiple rings and tie downs, and aesthetically pleasing.  If I plan to ride faster and agile I choose the porsche (trail) with its close contact, cross-fired girthing, and narrower spread.

Somehow these Freeform saddles make me feel more like an athlete and less like a 62year old retiree.  They are well designed and very light weight.  Made in Italy, they give the rider a European flair.


Gerry Cummings
Two time AERC national 100-mile champ



Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 It FITS HORSES & Helps Sore Backs April 1, 2020
Reviewer: Jaime W. from NC  
We’ve had several Freeforms in our family, but it is easy to see why the Ultimate Trail is such a top-seller.  It FITS HORSES. My family rides endurance, and we have done things like bring 4 horses to ride 50 miles at a weekend ride!  We do both start in different Freeforms (the DKR for me and the Classic Scout for my husband) but we ALWAYS put the Ultimate Trail in the trailer. These saddles are so well-designed, that we’ve never needed to “switch out saddles” even for back-to-back rides, but I have felt that if even one of ever got into a comfort problem with our saddles, we would be able to find something that worked for us with the Ultimate Trail.  You really have a nice comfy seat that you can put your leg where you’d like to make your knees and hips feel good! And for the horse, it’s just so easy to fit.  I can think of 5 specific times, that we’ve been riding with people or talking with friends in the hold, who were about to have to stop their ride (get “pulled”) bc their horse’s back was sore-and we offered them the Ultimate Trail to try. Every time the horse was able to finish, moving freely and comfortably, and the riders usually gave the saddle high marks (and sometimes bought one!) as well.
We know people are sometimes drawn to this saddle because it is less expensive than some other Freeforms, because it is a minimal saddle. You still want Paulita to help you; for big distance we like panels for one horse, and have two different custom Skito pads for other horses (but this saddle does work WELL for all SIX of our horses!). You’ll likely want a size up in the seat. I ride in a size 17-17.5 English saddle but have an 18” Ultimate Trail. I think it’s so nice to just feel so connected with my horse in this saddle, not only though the treeless seat, but through my whole leg-you’ll feel their breathing and I can even feel some of my horse’s hearts beat in this saddle! However, it is a minimal design, so I like it best for my veteran horses or my bolder young friends.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Best saddle ever December 30, 2019
Reviewer: Becky adams from Texas  
I never dreamed 5 yrs ago my dream horse would turn into a saddle nightmare.I have tried everything from western, to treeless to fancy bareback pads. She has a lot of confirmation faults that made fitting her very challenging. I was on a web site reading comments when  somebody brought up treeless saddles. somebody mentioned that freeform had great quality, and there saddles were very  comfortable  and had great craft. I looked them up and thought what do I have to loose they have a demo problem. I wasn't ready to give up trying to find something for her, so I contracted Paulita and sent her pictures. she said that she would be up to the  challenge if I was and we got started.
One thing that caught my attention was the narrow twist in the seat. That has been wonderful. I have sat in a lot of saddle and never one as comfortable as the ultimate trail saddle. I can ride for hours and never have any hip pain. It has been a blessing. Maybel is doing a lot better and I think once she doesn't have in the back of her mind that riding causes pain we will have it made. each ride gets better and better. I am forever grateful to Paulita for being there for me and maybel. I'm not sure where we would be without all her help. I am looking forward to many happy trails. This has been an answer to my prayers.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Most comfortable saddle for horse and rider! July 23, 2019
Reviewer: Liz Grimshaw from Evergreen, CO  
I LOVE my freeform ultimate trail saddle and so does my horse. My little Arabian mare used to buck at every canter cue and try to bite, she has extremely sensitive and thin skin and she forms white patches if you look at her funny (she formed a white patch after a bite from another horse). This is our second endurance season in the FreeForm and she loves it, she has a beautiful canter now with no bucking or biting, her white patches have disappeared and we just did our first 100 together with perfect scores on her back and zero rubbing issues!! We did have a little bit of a learning curve figuring out the correct pad, but now Cricket will not tolerate being ridden in any other saddle. It is also by far the most comfortable saddle I have ever ridden in, I spent 19 hours and 100 miles in it and was barely sore the next day!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Best comfort & contact I've ever experienced March 22, 2019
Reviewer: Sarah Langham from Newport, NC  
When I hosted a hoof clinic in 2017 and invited Paulita to join in, she brought her beautiful display of Freeform saddles, and I ended up sitting in her Ultimate trail saddle.

It was amazing , the comfort and close contact I had with my horse was the best I'd ever experienced.  The ultimate is flapless and my horse was so alert and responsive to my aides-  I loved it!!   I now own 2 Freeforms.  I still ride my hi-withered mare in the Freeform Elite Dressage saddle,  but my shorter backs and lower withers I usually ride in the Freeform Ultimate Trail saddle now.  My Vet is also impressed with her Freeform. Her saddlebred is a much different horse since she has been riding in a Freeform - His back has changed shape and he has muscled up where he was lacking before.  I highly recommend these saddles, and I think my horses do too!🐴

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Freeform Ultimate Trail March 4, 2019
Reviewer: Edie Brogan from Cottage Grove, Wisconsin  
I am ADDICTED to this saddle!? My main mount is a very wide, half-draft. This saddle is high-profile enough to not add undesirable width under my legs, which is a bonus - especially since my left hip replacement in 2016. I am a full-time horsemanship trainer/instructor, specializing in trail-training and obstacle/sensory work, given my three decades of mounted police experience. This saddle is the MOST comfortable saddle I have ever ridden in! In addition to the high profile, the "Happy Ass" seat is beyond belief comfort for hours in the sadde. My assistant trainer (she owns one, too - as does her husband now!) and I find it to be very stable on even the steepest of hills.  I have recommended this saddle to just about every woman I know - unparalleled comfort and stability in a treeless saddle and of course, my horses agree!

Was this review helpful to you?